Around seven years after The Fisherman first started writing for the 'The Hurt & The Humour' LP and it's accompanying EP's, the band have finally found their sonic identity: marrying the unexpected – grunge with folk, a cajón drum set with a blaring guitar amp or, as it were, hurt with humour – while churning out some rather catchy pop songs. The resulting debut EP 'Beggar Princess' was released independently on August 16th 2017 and gathered a lot of praise in the American indie scene. Lauren Gribble of simply called the tracks "gorgeous" while host Lazlo heard some "powerful stuff" and legend Bob Leggett went even further with "Our mouth is watering and our ears are buzzing at the prospects of what is yet to come."

So it is with great excitement that The Fisherman & The Sea released their second EP 'Stuck With A Rhyme' on December 15th of 2017 to an ever growing worldwide fan base. On 'Stuck With A Rhyme' influences that have so far only been privy to fans who've seen them live introduce themselves to the mix, with elements of punk, grunge and psychedelia pushing through.

But none of that is surprising with the FInnish-German (his mother hails from Hailuoto, Finland and his father from Hamburg, Germany – two harbour cities connected by The Sea...) singer-songwriter's background: Starting out in punk bands and graduating through grunge and post-pop into a less restricted artistic space, The Fisherman formed his first long term band Kia. After their split he first went even heavier with Blickfang, but also started writing Beatles-y acoustic songs, forming Those Fine Young Men in the process. Still, the urge to move ahead with the less 'middle of the road'-ish  songs he had been gathering became so pressing that he started recording an LP alongside a host of EPs in the summer of 2016.

After half a year of trial and error trying to find the right sound and instrumentation to fit his songs, The Fisherman had to be struck down and hospitalized with pneumonia for him to finally decide to go for an unpolished 'out of studio' sound with close to no traditional drums but a special cajón drum set, the Loota instead. The urban 'earthiness' that makes The Fisherman & The Sea's sound so compelling is highlighted by little everyday joys – that might count as mistakes in hi-fi productions – like the cat meowing in the background of 'Beggar Princess' second track 'Sea of Pleasantries' to name but one.

Alongside the 'Stuck With A Rhyme' release and the subsequent shows, The Fisherman & The Sea are also continuing their Youtube series 'A Sea of Heroes' in February honouring singer/songwriters that helped inspire their music and the making of their first record.

To stay in touch and up to date, join our mailing list, drop us a line or hook up with us on social media by going to Contact!

Fm netti 023

© Nani Annette

recorded at home mini series

A peek behind the scenes mini documentary.

"biggest video hits so far..."

Our to-the-point Youtube calling card.